Route 66 Sprint Series Round #1 – Race Report

The Route 66 Sprint Series presented by MG Tires and Franklin Motorsports opened the season at the New Castle Motorsports Park in New Castle, Indiana last weekend.  Although the wind and cool temperatures kept everyone bundled up, the racing was outstanding.  About 150 entries spread across 10 classes took to the “National Track” each day.  Special thanks goes out to Comet Racing Engines for sponsoring the weekend event, and Comet Kart Sales for providing the chicken dinner Saturday night.

The Saturday morning driver’s meeting concluded with the distribution of door prizes provided by the Series and our sponsors.  A Napoleon Q grill, several sets of MG tires, and a Pelican cooler were some of the prizes handed out to racers.

The live PA audio, broadcast via the Series website at, is back once again for 2018.  You can also listen via the Mixlr app on mobile devices by following the Route66KartRacing channel.  Recordings of the audio have been uploaded to and are located on the Route66KartRacing channel.

Also popular with racers was the moving of the Saturday podium presentation to Sunday during the lunch break.  Almost full participation for the top 5 finishers, and plenty of spectators helped make the celebration more special.

For the second year in a row, not a single red flag was displayed all weekend and the on-site ambulance never moved.  And while there were a couple crashes on the opening laps, they were few and far between.

We also welcomed the Comer Kid Kart class back into the program for the season, replacing the Bambino Kid Kart for the remainder of the 2018 campaign.

The next outing for the Route 66 Sprint Series will be June 29 – July 1 at the newly repaved CTECH Manufacturing Motorplex at Road America, Elkhart Lake, WI.  Online registration is now open.

Saturday Feature Winners

KidKart – Sam Tutwiler

Yamaha Cadet – Logan Adams

IAME X30 Sr – Alexander Kardashian

IAME X30 Jr – Nicholas Terlecki

IAME Micro Swift – Cameron Myers

IAME KA100 Jr – Spencer Lofton

IAME KA 100 Sr – Cal Stewart

IAME Mini Swift – Elliot Cox

Yamaha Jr – Kaden Wharff

Yamaha Sr – Alexander Kardashian


Sunday Feature Winners

Kid Kart – Sam Tutwiler

Yamaha Cadet – Logan Adams

IAME X30 Sr – Brandon Lemke

IAME X30 Jr – Nicholas Terlecki

IAME Micro Swift – Aryton Grim

IAME KA100 Jr – Keegan Bosch

IAME KA 100 Sr – Josh Hotz

IAME Mini Swift – Jace Park

Yamaha Jr – Sam Hinds

Yamaha Sr – Alexander Kardashian


Full race results can be found by visiting the Results page on the Series website located at  A complete photo gallery of the weekend can be found at  All photos by Indykartpics.