Recently, the Route 66 Sprint Series presented by MG Tires and Franklin Motorsports held rounds 5 & 6 of the 2018 season at Michiana Raceway Park in North Liberty, Indiana. The forecast was not ideal, with rain expected for the better part of the weekend. As it turned out, the forecast was pretty accurate, with most of the racing action taking place under wet, or “driver’s choice” conditions.

The Saturday morning driver’s meeting concluded with the distribution of door prizes provided by the Series and our sponsors. As usual, gas grills, several sets of MG tires, and Pelican coolers were some of the prizes handed out to racers.

The live PA audio, accessible via the Series website at, was broadcast all weekend. You can also listen via the Mixlr app on mobile devices by following the Route66KartRacing channel. Recordings of the audio have been uploaded to channel.

Also popular with racers was the moving of the Saturday podium presentation to Sunday during the lunch break. Almost full participation for the top 5 finishers, and plenty of spectators helped make the celebration more special.
Although the changing wet conditions presented the racers and officials with more than their fair share of challenges, spirits were still high and plenty of fun was had by all. Thanks to Garry and Diane Lobaugh for proving a meal for everyone Saturday night.

The next outing for the Route 66 Sprint Series will be August 17-19 at Concept Haulers Motor Speedway, located in Sheridan (Norway), IL. It has been several years since the series visited the storied .75 mile track, which features a high speed banked monza corner, as well as a bridge. Online registration is now open.




Saturday Feature Winners

Yamaha Cadet – Alex Grapsas
IAME X30 Sr – Brandon Lemke
IAME X30 Jr – Garrett Adams
IAME Micro Swift – Aryton Grim
IAME KA100 Jr – Tristan Farber
IAME KA 100 Sr – Colton Ramsey
IAME Mini Swift – Logan Adams
Yamaha Jr – Cameron Christ
Yamaha Sr – Carter Pease

Sunday Feature Winners

Yamaha Cadet – Logan Adams
IAME X30 Sr – Brandon Lemke
IAME X30 Jr – Kaden Wharff
IAME Micro Swift – Cameron Brinkman
IAME KA100 Jr – Tristan Farber
IAME KA 100 Sr – Josh Hotz
IAME Mini Swift – Josh Fiene
Yamaha Jr – Kaden Wharff
Yamaha Sr – Adam Crepin

Full race results can be found by visiting the Results page on the Series website located at